Why Someday? Why Not Today?

I started this post last week.  I guess it has been kind of busy and I have literally left this tab open on my computer since last Tuesday because I didn’t want to forget why I started it.

Each week my company, Rodan and Fields Skincare, offers a training call on Sunday night.  Do I listen on Sunday, NO! I am not nearly organized enough to make that happen.  However, the call is recorded and I listen to the playback on my drive to work on Monday mornings.

Last week, it was all about our WHY.  Why do we do what we do?  Why is it important? Why does it HAVE to work?

Whatever you are doing, you have to have a reason, a WHY.  If you don’t then what’s the point?

Think about this.  

At the end of your life, people will say nice things about you.  That’s just what happens.  So by all means, be a good person, a good friend, a good husband or wife, a good parent.  But this is life, what are you going to do with it?

What do you want your best friend, son, daughter, or spouse to stand up and say about you?  What’s the picture of your life in the end, what did you love, is it being a parent raising healthy happy giving children? Are you out to teach every child to read, do you want to help fund a certain children’s shelter do you want to improve education in your community? Be specific.  If you aren’t specific, then you are just hoping things will happen, you are looking for your someday.  Guys, SOMEDAY isn’t a day of the week.  SOMEDAY never comes, it is like what Annie says about tomorrow, it is always a day away.  

Your “someday” is today once you commit yourself to SUCCESS.

13183323_283487035328098_817094615_n

My why has taken a lot to develop.  My instinct is to just say that my why is my family.  Well it is, but what about my family?  My kids are grown and I have a granddaughter on the way.  Family means the world to me.  Specifically, what I want for my family is financial freedom.  I want my granddaughter to be able to graduate from any college she wants to attend without having to work her way through.  I want her to be able to focus on her classes without having to worry about paying bills. I want my kids to be able to finish college and graduate school without having to worry about paying.  I want to take my family on trips to places we weren’t able to go to before.  I want to pay off all of my mother’s bills because she has always taken care of me and provided me with things I never deserved.  I want to build our dream home and purchase a truck for my husband because we have spent years sharing a vehicle.  Beyond family, I want to provide students in poverty stricken areas the opportunity to express themselves through art without their parent having to pay a dime for the supplies or classes.  I want to donate to art programs in schools because art programs are not funded properly.  These are my dreams, these are the things I want to accomplish.  This is why I do what I do.

What is your why?  What would you do if time was abundant and money were no object?

Think about it, comment on this post.  Let me know your plans to accomplish this.  I know one way it can be done, I would love to have you all as business partners if you are committed to making it happen.

Leave a comment